For The Women

Standard

For the Women

For the women who think
I’m too dark
my hair is too tangled
I’m too tall, too short
too round, too flat
I forgive you.

For the women who pity me
because I’m alive
but my womb is always vacant
because I’m a mother
but all my children are females
I forgive you.

For the women who shame me
because I’m putting a ring on it
I’m not putting a ring on it
I took off the ring
I don’t want to put a ring on it
I forgive you.

For the women who mock me
because I wear my face
with or without hiding my acnes, birthmarks, burns
because I wear what I want
without being ashamed, weak, or sorry
I forgive you.

For the women who condemn me
because I slap back, talk back, fight back
cook, clean, drive, ride, fly, protest
read, write, design, travel, study, love
I forgive you.

Leave a Reply

