IUG: One year on

Standard

The Islamic University in Gaza, established in 1979, is an educational institution. On the 28th of December 2008, the IUG’s laboratory building was hit by Israeli warplanes.

Despite the fact that I am not a fan of the university I attend, I felt so dismayed.
The Israelis claim that these labs were used to manufacture rockets, yet this is a totally untrue.

The first photos of the university were chaotic. And I thought that it was going to take a very long time before we go back to studying.

The damage after a year now is plain to see. An unfamiliar space almost like an empty lot which whenever you enter the university it reminds you that Israel had mistaken labs for a rocket factory. Through out this year the rubble was cleared gradually. Now I don’t remember the IUG before it was hit, I only remember the new –now old-reality.

The IUG has been always a symbol of steadfastness and defiance when it comes to the challenges and setbacks that it faced. The minor damages around the labs like broken windows, slightly destroyed wall and remains were soon fixed. The finals exams of the term 2008-2009 were resumed on the February the seventh 2009.

I remember when I first saw the university after the ceasefire, I felt awe. And when I went to have my first exam, I felt some sublimity in the moment of having an exam after this relatively short period and having an exam in a university that was hit less than 2 month ago.
Again it is the defiance and steadfastness of not only the IUG but Gaza and its people as a whole.

As a commemoration of the first anniversary of the War on Gaza, The Student Council at IUG organized activties to commemorate the victims of the onslaught.


IUG-2007

IUG-February 2009

2 responses »

  1. wow nice linz.
    you are an active blogger mashaallah.
    God bless IUG and the Gazan ppl as well.
    God bless you for all you exerted effort to keep everything updated.

Leave a Reply

