Love brings us free-A song for Palestine

Standard

Salamz,
Many couples in the recent wars lost their spouses. Whether it was a wife lost her husband or vise versa. And it’s of course like any loss, it hurts and bitters. Today, after I came back from uni. There was no electricity so I did my fav thing grabbed my headphones and listened to music. Among the playlist I have a song which I love by Isam B in Danish called “Alle Veje Forer Til Malmo” I don’t understand the lyrics. I know it talks about going to Malmo and have a good life. The song had inspired me to write a poem before but it was about the idea not the tunes. Today, for the 1st time I felt like I was singing my own lyrics. I ended up writing them down…and after ALLL this introduction here’s the outcome. (remember it’s dedicated for those who lost their spouses in wars, especially, the freedom fighters).

It’s a photo
our photo…a wedding photo
I picked it up from the rubble
And I couldn’t believe
That it was the only thing left
From you to me
Now, we’re not together
But somehow together
And it brings a lot of pain
******
But I still feel you everywhere
your smile is always there
the promises we used to make
about the free better days
If i ever doubt in them
Now i believe, more than I ever did

It’s a photo
our photo..family photo
father, wife and kids
I couldn’t get
That I’m the only who’s left
We were together
And somehow we still together
And that brings a lot of pain
*********
But I still feel you everywhere
your smile is always there
the promises we used to make
about the free better days
If i ever doubt in them
Now i believe, more than I ever did
************
It’s hard to think of happiness again
and even if I did, you’ll be missed
It’s hard to think of life
and you are not here
I’ll keep my head high
I believe
it’s love that you died for
So it’s love bring us free

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

